OMD – “Night Café” single + remixes [Stream Audio]


OMD‘s “Night Café” is the third single from ‘English Electric’ and will be released on a limited edition CD and digital on the 16th September 2013 on 100% Records.

The Independent‘s five-star live review of OMD’s sell out show at Camden’s Roundhouse selected “Night Café” as a highlight amongst their new material.

The single will be accompanied by 4 superb remixes and a complete collection of the albums’ b-sides, forming a 10 track digital / physical release package. A brand new track “Kill Me” is also included as the official b-side to Night Café.

One remix in particular features the dark disco re-workings of synth pop new comers Vile Electrodes. Their ‘B-Side the C-Side’ remix came as a result of supporting OMD’s live shows throughout Europe.

Andy McCluskey talks on his inspiration for Night Café, “I was in New York for the first time in 20 years. I was feeling melancholy. It was -9 degrees, it was dark and I was on a street corner looking into an almost empty restaurant. How could I not be reminded of Edward Hopper’s paintings?”

The song references 7 titles of his works and combines OMD’s romantic melodic touch with a lyrical sadness that matches the tranquil emptiness of Hopper’s art.

OMD are enjoying a fruitful year; critically acclaimed ‘English Electric’ charted at #12 on the official album chart, they performed for the first time ever on Later with Jools Holland, and embarked on a 13 date UK tour followed by tours across Europe, USA, Canada and Mexico.

OMD – Night Café audio stream:

Track listing for Night Café is as follows:

Night Cafe
1. Night Café

2. Kill Me
3. The Great White Silence
4. Time Burns
5. No Man’s Land
6. Frontline

7. Night Café (Vile Electrodes ‘B-Side the C-Side’ Remix)
8. Night Café (Metroland’s Nighthawks Remix)
9. Night Café (Taoyoyo Remix)
10. Night Café (Sin Cos Tan Rmx)

For the latest music and information, please go to:

OMD Official Website