The Watson Twins - 'Fire Songs' album review

The Watson Twins

The first time that I saw The Watson Twins was on Later...with Jools Holland a couple years ago when they were in the UK touring with Jenny Lewis. Their presence on stage was almost spooky - identical twin sisters with their matching long dresses and dark hair. The appearance was memorable and it's good to see them out on their own now, with the release of their debut album, 'Fire Songs'.

Off the top of my head I can think of three other sets of twins in music - The Nelson Brothers, who play rock, The Proclaimers are more pop and The Cheeky Girls...who are just, well, cheeky. None of these acts are alike, and The Watson Twins, made up of Chandra and Leigh Watson also have their own sound - a mix of folk and country with soft harmonies and moving melodies.

I've been listening to The Watson Twins' new 'Fire Songs' album and at times, their sound reminds me of Natalie Merchant, Beth Orton and even K.D. Lang, who's fans might want to take note. The instrumentation throughout the album is superb, with beautiful vocal harmonies, wonderful stories and most songwriting credits going to Chandra and Leigh, depending on the song.

"How Am I To Be" is probably my favorite song on the album, and is a great choice for an opening track. I really like the sparse feel of it at the intro - with the vocals and the childish, playful piano, and then the way the other instruments come in soon after, along with the harmonies. It's fun to sing along to, and it helps that the lyrics are inside the CD cover.

The Cure's "Just Like Heaven" makes an appearance on 'Fire Songs', and The Watson Twins' languid, dreamy version is excellent. The harmonica also adds a nice touch.

Chandra and Leigh Watson grew up in Kentucky, and when they were young they would sing in the church choir, which is where they discovered their ability to harmonize. Later on they moved to LA, and even after their move to the big city, and now, after listening to 'Fire Songs', it seems that they have kept their Kentucky roots intact.

'Fire Songs' tracklisting:

1. How Am I To Be
2. Lady Love Me
3. Fall
4. Just Like Heaven
5. Map To Where You Are
6. Dig A Little Deeper
7. Sky Open Up
8. Bar Woman Blues
9. Only You
10. Old Ways
11. Waves

For music and more information, go to:

The Watson Twins Official Website

By: Jenny May -

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About Jenny May

Jenny May is the founder of Band Weblogs. Based in Oxford, England (originally from New England), Band Weblogs was created in 2005. With a passion for music, Jenny May has performed with bands in the US and the UK, her music has appeared in films, she was a vocal coach for the Yamaha Rock School and has worked on music projects with musicians such as Jon Fishman (Phish), Fyfe Dangerfield (Guillemots) and Cisco Adler (Shwayze). Jenny is currently writing music commentary and reviews for Band Weblogs and writing, recording and performing music with songwriter and musician Dave Tommo.
This entry was posted in Albums, Featured, Music, New Releases, Reviews and Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>