Consider the Source release Fire Alarms EP + Austin, TX shows (SXSW)

Consider the Source

Austin, TX's Consider the Source is proud to announce the release of their new EP titled 'Fire Alarms'. Widely-praised within their hometown and released on drummer James Taylor's up-and-coming imprint Giant Steps Records, 'Fire Alarms' showcases the kinetic-yet-controlled profile of the Texas-bred post-punk band to the absolute fullest.

Produced by Rory Phillips (Young Love, At All Cost, Recover), the EP finds the band moving away from the wandering, largely instrumental songwriting of their previous release, 'The Impressionist' EP (Old Bulletproof Records), and towards a more focused and explosive pop-conscious sound.

Formed in Austin well over five years ago, Consider the Source (Seth Grueneberg - vocals, rhythm guitar; Derek Dean - lead guitar; Jason Bearden - bass; James Taylor - drums) have come to be known as one of the city's most exciting and forward-thinking outfits simply through their engaging live performances.

Cutting their teeth in a town whose name is synonymous with the fostering of provocative musical talent, Consider the Source has had the opportunity to put out a few releases that have gone on to be praised locally as well as throughout parts of their home state.

Stylistically, 'Fire Alarms' is a showcase unlike the band's previous material. Slightly more stripped-back but no less volatile, the band's latest offering is the distillation of elaborate ideas and concepts into a body of work that is both accessible and alluring, mainly through the band's knack for well-executed song structures that are as creative as they come.

"Consider the Source play some of the most frenetic arrangements this side of At the Drive-In. RIYL: The Fall of Troy, The Sound of Animals Fighting, Refused" - Alternative Press Magazine

In addition to the release, Consider the Source will be making a few appearances during this year's SXSW Music and Arts Festival in Austin, TX, later this month. With this, the band will have copies of 'Fire Alarms' available to fans on custom-made Drop Cards, the innovative physical piece of media used for the distribution of digital content. Utilizing this new form of media, the band will be able to spread their infectious music to as many willing listeners as possible through this state-of-the-art vehicle and will allow them to continue to promote their EP in a refreshing new way.

'Fire Alarms' EP track-listing:

1. We Dance (To Fire Alarms)
2. Snow Man on a Par 3
3. Just Say: Let Go
4. Playing Piano til Your Fingers Bleed
5. The Long Gracious Fall of Joseph Kittinger
6. Dallas
7. And In Our Heads There Was a Symphony

Consider the Source 2009 shows:

(Dates and information subject to change.)

18 Mar 2009 Creekside Lounge (Day Party with Pompeii and more TBA) Austin, Texas
19 Mar 2009 CAMEL OFFICE (above Emo's) with Peelander Z, Fastball and more Austin, Texas
19 Mar 2009 PLUSH -- Jonah Matranga (Far), Look Mexico, Constants, Caspian and more Austin, Texas
23 Apr 2009 MOHAWK with Screaming at the Sky, Grenadier, Pride Like Lions Austin, Texas
20 May 2009 MOHAWK with Watching the Moon Austin, Texas

Consider the Source MySpace
Consider the Source Website

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Bands, New Releases, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>