The Weepies release 'Be My Thrill' - stream tracks on SoundCloud

"Luminous" California Duo The Weepies to release 'Be My Thrill' August 31 on Nettwerk Music

The Weepies

Celebrated California duo The Weepies have confirmed the August 31, 2010 Nettwerk Records release of 'Be My Thrill.'

Comprised of husband/wife duo Steve Tannen and Deb Talan, The Weepies rocketed from playing house concerts in Boston to a #31 Billboard chart debut for their last album 'Hideaway.'

Buy CDs, MP3s, more:

The Weepies on

'Be My Thrill' is a collection of 14 heartfelt tracks that crystallizes the duo's organic, acoustic sound and warm, pop harmonies.

The album showcases Tannen and Talan's powerhouse songwriting, ranging from the Cole-Porter-Esque "They're in Love" to the Dusty Springfield-like "When You Go Away."

In anticipation of The Weepies appearance on Lilith 2010, LA Times music critic Ann Powers recently caught up with the pair, saying that their "[songs] sneak up gently and make everything around them cool down... lovely, misty, refreshing."

With the birth of their son in 2008, The Weepies opted out of touring behind 'Hideaway' to enjoy their new family, but the lack of live shows didn't keep them out of the spotlight.

Since getting signed by Nettwerk, The Weepies have earned over 100 licensing placements across various major network TV shows and blockbuster movies to date, including Gossip Girl, Grey's Anatomy, Sex And The City, and even a prominent campaign ad for Barack Obama.

Paste Magazine praised "Talan's sweet, deliberate vocals and buoyant lyrics...and Tannen's moodier vocals and lyrics" as "sincere and romantic," while All Music Guide noted the duo "create moments so luminous you have to shut your eyes to keep from being blinded by the light."

The Weepies plan to tour the US this fall. Stay tuned for more updates.

'Be My Thrill' tracklisting:

1. Please Speak Well of Me
2. When You go Away
3. Red Red Rose
4. I Was Made for Sunny Days
5. They're in Love, Where Am I?
6. Add My Effort
7. Be My Thrill
8. Be My Honeypie
9. Hummingbird
10. Hard to Please
11. Not a Lullaby
12. How Do You Get High?
13. Hope Tomorrow
14. Empty Hands

Listen to tracks:

The first single "I Was Made For Sunny Days" is out now on iTunes and other digital service providers - currently you can Stream tracks on SoundCloud

The Weepies Official Website
The Weepies Facebook
The Weepies Twitter

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Featured, Music, Music News, New Releases, Singles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>