Glee Clubs to host first ever V Festival Comedy Tents - August 20-21, 2011

The Glee Club

The Glee Clubs are set to host some of the biggest names in stand-up comedy as they make their festival debut this Summer.

Young comic prodigy Kevin Bridges, king of one-liners Milton Jones, and established gag smith Stephen K Amos are all confirmed to appear in the inaugural Glee Club Comedy Tents at the 16th annual V Festival.

This year marks the premiere outing for comedy at V Festival, sponsored by Virgin Media, held on Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st August at both Hylands Park in Chelmsford and Weston Park in South Staffordshire.

The Glee Club, Oxford review: Fredrik Andersson, Joel Dommett, Ava Vidal, Gary Delaney

The Glee Club's owner Mark Tughan said:

"We're delighted to be bringing some of the best comics around to the V Festival this year, hosting an excellent mix of top TV names, established circuit regulars, and fast rising stars. We'll be bringing the great vibe of our comedy clubs to the 2,000 capacity tent.

"With stand-up really shooting into the mainstream over the last few years, now is the right time for V to be hosting top live comedy and for The Glee Clubs to be making our festival debut.

"We're really looking forward to welcoming festival-goers into the Glee Club Comedy Tents for a good laugh. This will be one of the most exciting weekends in our 18 year history."

The Glee Clubs are a group of award-winning live comedy venues in Birmingham, Nottingham, Cardiff and Oxford.

When the first Glee Club opened in Birmingham in 1994 it was the only purpose-built comedy venue to exist outside London.

Other comedians due to appear in the Glee Club Comedy Tents include hip-hop improv act Abandoman, Phoenix Nights star Justin Moorhouse, top Asian stand-up Paul Chowdhry, Royal Variety performer Hal Cruttenden, and one of the most dangerous comics in the country, Ian Cognito.

As exclusively announced to those who downloaded the official V Festival 2011 app, the full line up features*:

Saturday 20th August 2011 - Weston Park, Stafford

Stephen K Amos - Hal Cruttenden - Chris Stokes - Ben Norris - Tony Hendriks - Ryan McDonnell - John Forthergill - Steve Shanyaski - Matt Reed - Jimmy Bird - Prince Abdi - Jacques Barrett - Jason Patterson

Sunday 21st August 2011 - Weston Park, Stafford

Milton Jones - Pete Johansson - Justin Moorhouse - Andrew Stanley - Andre King - Marlon Davis - Hugh Lennon - Steve Harris - Ian Cognito - Abandoman

Saturday 20th August 2011 – Hylands Park, Chelmsford

Kevin Bridges - Justin Moorhouse - Pete Johansson - Andrew Stanley - Paul Chowdhry - Gary Delaney - Hugh Lennon - Marlon Davis - Ian Cognito - Abandoman

Sunday 21st August 2011 - Hylands Park, Chelmsford

Stephen K Amos - Barry Castagnola - Jason Patterson - Hal Cruttenden - Jimmy Bird - Jacques Barrett - Ricky Grover - Ryan McDonnell - Matt Hardy - Prince Abdi - Chris Stokes - Louis Ramey - Ian Stone

To keep up-to-date with all the news from V Festival visit, 'like' V Festival on Facebook (, follow @vfestival on Twitter or download the Official V Festival 2011 app which is available across Nokia, Blackberry, Android and iPhone platforms.

For more information on The Glee Clubs visit or follow @TheGleeClub on Twitter.

* Please note line-ups and times may vary

For the latest information, please go to:

The Glee Club Official Website

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>