Deer Tick release new album Divine Providence

Deer Tick

Partisan Records is excited to announce the release of Deer Tick's new record, Divine Providence.

Set to be released on October 25, 2011, Divine Providence was produced by the band along with Adam Landry and Justin Collins, who were also at the helm for lead singer, main songwriter John McCauley's highly acclaimed side project, Middle Brother.

Deer Tick's live shows and McCauley's overall stage aesthetic fueled his desire to create the raw and spontaneous kerosene blaze that is Divine Providence.

While the break-neck speed and damn-it-all fury could give one the sense that it all may fall apart in an instant, Deer Tick never loses sight of the song. It is insanity, but there's obviously a plan in place.

"After so many years of critics praising [and making fun of] us for our 'folk' and 'country' sounds, and hardly ever mentioning the fact that we've also recorded virtually dozens of other kinds of music, we wanted to make a record that was truer to our live set: raw, loud, heartfelt, and completely uninterested in whatever the hell the rest of the music industry is up to," says McCauley. "The results are unlike anything you've heard on a Deer Tick album."

Divine Providence is the Rhode Island quintet's fourth album in just five years, and is the first one the band has recorded in their home state.

It's a follow-up to their fantastic Black Dirt Sessions, that New York magazine called "flat-out great," and inspired the Late Show with David Letterman to give the band its network television debut.

The new record features for the first time lead vocal turns on a couple of songs by guitarist Ian O'Neil and drummer Dennis Ryan.

"Man, you can practically smell the sweat and the beer! Shit, you may even hear a guitar or two break somewhere in there!," continues McCauley. "It's got a little Exile, it's got a little In Utero, it's got a little Nilsson Schmilsson, but it's 100% Deer-Fu**ing-Tick in our purest, and most carefree form."

Deer Tick are:

John McCauley - guitar, vocals
Ian O'Neil - guitar, vocals
Chris Ryan - bass, vocals
Rob Crowell - keys, saxophone, vocals
Dennis Ryan - drums, vocals

The tracklisting for Divine Providence is:

The Bump
Funny Word
Let's All Go to the Bar
Clownin' Around
Main Street
Chevy Express
Something to Brag About
Walkin Out the Door
Make Believe
Now It's Your Turn
Miss K.

Buy CDs, MP3s, more: Deer Tick on

You can download the first song from Divine Providence here: Download "Miss K."

Deer Tick Official Website
Deer Tick Facebook

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>