Blag'ard to release Fresh Candy


North Carolina indie rock duo Blag'ard, featuring Joe Taylor (lead vocals/guitar) and Adam Brinson (drums), bring you their third full-length album, Fresh Candy, which will be released on Tuesday October 9, 2012 by the Pig Zen Space label. The album will be available on iTunes, Amazon, eMusic, and the Pig Zen Space site.

Fresh Candy has hints of indie rock, while creating a robust sound impressively complex for only their guitar and drum instrumentals. Blag'ard echoes a sound reminiscent of The Police, old school Van Halen, and Pavement.

After working toward stardom in previous bands, Taylor and Brinson have found that a duo is their formula for musical success. They took the name 'Blag'ard' from a term in a series of books by Patrick O'Brian, alluding to deviant behavior. They thought the name both sounded good and also was fitting for a rock band, so it passed their 'name test'. Having formed five years ago in Chapel Hill, NC, Blag'ard's previous discography includes an EP and two full-length albums; all on the Pig Zen Space label.

Fresh Candy is a cornucopia of emotion, reflecting on Taylor's own personal history with music and relationships. Songs like "Rusted Chrome," a tribute to Taylor's father who dreamed of being a successful musician, give a glimpse into the personal reflection running throughout the album.

"Down South is about a relationship I had where I left someone I care about with the intentions of returning to her when I could afford to do so." explains Taylor. "It is a love song about endurance," he says. Through the lyrics and music, listeners are drawn into both the heartache of separation and the hope of reunion.

Fresh Candy also shows the band in a more sarcastic light with tracks like, "Tea Is For Cookie." "The song is about finding it hard to like the types of guys who act tough only when it's safe to do so. The song creates a fantasy of having a cup of tea with them, which is not a very tough-guy thing to do, hence the humor," explains Taylor.

Written by Taylor, recorded and produced by Brian Paulson (Dinosaur Jr., Beck, Wilco), and mixed by Jeff Lipton (Bon Iver, Andrew Bird, City and Colour), Fresh Candy will be released on October 9, 2012, and shows great promise in delivering the same music legacy that so many great rock bands have done before them.

1. Candy Town
2. Rusted Chrome
3. Pony Boy
4. Down South
5. 3rd Member
6. Candles
7. Integrity
8. Nice To Pedro
9. Scapes
10. Tea Is For Cookie

For the latest information, please go to:

Blag'ard Official Website

Shop music and more:

Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>