The Australian Music Prize returns in 2008 with $30,000 cash prize

Australian Music Prize

The Australian Music Prize (The Amp) returns in 2008 to encourage, reward and promote Australian music of excellence.

Now in its fourth year, The Amp is calling for all Australian artists across every musical genre to submit original album-length works (released in 2008) to go into the running to win the cash prize, which this year has increased to $30,000.

Prize Director of The Amp 2008, Tracey Grimson, says: "The Amp is thrilled to offer an increased cash prize to its winner this year, thanks to the ongoing support of one of our principal partners, PPCA. PPCA has been with us since the word go. It's a happy marriage and we're grateful for their continued support."

Stephen Peach, Chief Executive of PPCA, says all Australian artists can benefit by becoming a PPCA member: "PPCA collects licence fees from commercial users of recorded music like radio, TV, retail stores, bars and nightclubs. We then distribute the net income we've collected direct to registered Australian artists and to their record labels." He adds that PPCA, which is a non-profit organisation, shares The Amp's commitment to the promotion of Australian recordings: "We're delighted to be continuing our partnership with The Amp in 2008."

Last year's winner of the Australian Music Prize was The Mess Hall, awarded the esteemed prize for the album 'Devils Elbow'. The prize money has been a "blessing", according to the band. "We've used the bulk of it on touring and we've also gotten ourselves a permanent space where we can record and rehearse," says the band's drummer Cec Condon. "It's enabled us to have a bit of financial breathing space before we start the recording process again." But The Amp is not only about the prize money.

In the short years since its birth, The Amp has become Australia's most prestigious music award, renowned for its objectivity and its integrity. Like the UK's Mercury Music Prize, The Amp is intended to encourage excellence and to attract the broadest spectrum of entrants.

"Every Australian artist who released an original album in 2008 should enter the Australian Music Prize," says Tracey Grimson. "The judging panel is comprised of some of the best sets of ears in the country - whether artists, music media or retailers. These judges are huge music fans who are open to listening to every style of music. And they're unbiased in their approach to judging the award."

The winner and finalists (known as the Shortlist) will share in widespread media and retail exposure thanks to their association with The Amp 2008. And along with the Australian Music Prize itself, The Amp also awards an encouragement prize (supported by Red Bull), as well as including a public vote component.

More details of the Red Bull Prize will be announced very soon, along with a couple of exciting developments which will make The Amp 2008 the biggest and best yet. Artists intending to enter should note there is an early bird entry fee of only $55 applicable from 1st to 31st October. Entries received after that date will attract a $95 fee. Final entries close on 21st November 2008, no exceptions.

To enter (from 1st October, 2008), go to:

Australian Music Prize Official Website


Ben Lee - Awake Is The New Sleep
Devastations - Coal
The Drones - Wait Long By the River And The Bodies Of Your Enemies Will Float By
The Go-Betweens - Oceans Apart
The Mess Hall - Notes From A Ceiling
Tex, Don And Charlie - All Is Forgiven
TZU - Smiling At Strangers
Wolfmother - Wolfmother


The Drones - Wait Long By the River And The Bodies Of Your Enemies Will Float By


Augie March - Moo, You Bloody Choir
Bob Evans - Suburban Songbook
The Drones - Gala Mill
Gotye - Hearts A Mess
The Grates - Gravity Won't Get You High
Howling Bells - Howling Bells
Jackie Marshall - Fight 'n' Flight
Lisa Gerrard - The Silver Tree
Sarah Blasko - What The Sea Wants, The Sea Will Have


Augie March - Moo, You Bloody Choir


Architecture In Helsinki - Places Like This
Bluejuice - Problems
Dardanelles - Mirror Mirror
Devastations - Yes, U
Lisa Miller - Morning In The Bowl Of Night
The Mess Hall - Devils Elbow
Midnight Juggernauts - Dystopia
New Buffalo - Somewhere, Anywhere
Perry Keyes - Last Ghost Train Home
Urthboy - The Signal


The Mess Hall - Devils Elbow

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>