Grammy nominations for MBC artists: Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, Duffy, Madonna, more


The nominations for the 51st annual Grammy Awards were announced at Los Angeles' Nokia Theatre, with MBC's British contingent gaining a hatful of nominations.

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss continue to impress, and will compete in five categories:
- Album of the year (for 'Raising Sand')
- Record of the year (for 'Please Read The Letter')
- Best contemporary folk/Americana album (for 'Raising Sand')
- Best pop collaboration with vocals (for 'Rich Woman')
- Best country collaboration with vocals (for 'Killing The Blues')

Duffy also had an excellent night gaining three nominations:
- Best new artist
- Best female pop vocal performance (for 'Mercy')
- Best pop vocal album (for 'Rockferry')

MBC's American artists also scored highly. After providing one of the night's stand out performances, five-time Grammy winner John Mayer was rewarded with five nominations:
- Best male pop vocal performance (for 'Say')
- Best pop collaboration with vocals (for 'Lesson Learned')
- Best solo rock vocal performance (for 'Gravity')
- Best song written for Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media (for 'Say')
- Best long form music video (for 'Where The Light Is - Live in Los Angeles')

Jason Mraz also had a good night, gaining three nominations (song of the year, best male pop vocal performance, best engineered album, non-classical), while Madonna (best pop collaboration with vocals) and Rufus Wainwright (best traditional pop vocal album) walked away with one nomination apiece.

The Grammy Awards show takes place February 8th 2009.

Grammy Official Website

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>