Robyn Hitchcock releases Propellor Time + April 2010 UK tour dates; video

Robyn Hitchcock & the Venus 3 release Propellor Time 22 March 2010

Robyn Hitchcock & The Venus 3

Single "Ordinary Millionaire" co-written with Johnny Marr

Over the past three decades, UK singer / songwriter / guitarist / painter / actor Robyn Hitchcock has amassed an extensive and distinguished body of work that has established him as one of rock music's most respected and beloved iconoclasts.

A musician's musician, and still criminally underexposed despite a long history of critical appreciation, Hitchcock's vivid surrealist song craft has over the years earned him a devout international fan base - including filmmaker Jonathan Demme who in 1998 directed Hitchcock's live performance film Storefront Hitchcock, shot in a derelict shop window on 14th Street in NYC.

Buy Music:

Robyn Hitchcock on

Robyn Hitchcock on

A prolific renegade and visionary cult artist, Hitchcock has released numerous albums with his longstanding outfits The Soft Boys and Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians, as well as his own ample solo work of which Propellor Time (Sartorial Records) is the very latest.

Robyn Hitchcock - Propellor Time

Recorded at home in London's Tropic of Hounslow over the Summer of 2006 and beyond, Propellor Time is no single-handed effort: The Venus 3, Hitchcock's backing band for this recording boasts the rhythm section of Scott McCaughey (Young Fresh Fellows) on bass and Bill Rieflin on drums (formerly of Ministry and Revolting Cocks).

Making a rare appearance as a sideman outside his usual group, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck (on 12 string and acoustic guitars) completes this esteemed line-up and is co-writer of the album's title track with Hitchcock. This same Venus 3 configuration of Buck, McCaughey & Rieflin appears on Hitchcock's 2006 release Olé Tarantula!, and were featured in John Edginton's BBC Four documentary Robyn Hitchcock: Sex, Food, Death... and Insects.

Watch "Ordinary Millionaire" video (co-written by Johnny Marr):

Additionally, a star-studded array of illustrious guest musicians collaborate with Hitchcock on Propellor Time; selected tracks feature contributions from John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin/Them Crooked Vultures), Johnny Marr (The Smiths/Modest Mouse) who co-wrote the track he plays on, "Ordinary Millionaire" with Hitchcock, old pal Nick Lowe; and former Soft Boy/Egyptian band mate Morris Windsor among many other notables.

Out March 22nd 2010, Propellor Time is Hitchcock's second release on Sartorial Records, its predecessor being 2008's Shadowcat (a collection of '90s outtakes). But 2009 was hardly a fallow year for Hitchcock having seen the advent of both a studio album Goodnight Oslo (on Yep Roc Records with the Venus 3), as well as the recently released live concert DVD, I Often Dream Of Trains In New York, shot by acclaimed director John Edginton and featuring Sartorial head honcho and multi-instrumentalist Terry Edwards.

Having recently participated in Graham Coxon's Power Acoustic Ensemble concert at The Barbican, Hitchcock will be making several other special appearances in the run-up to the release of Propellor Time.


Star of Venus - The Afterlight - Luckiness - Ordinary Millionaire - John in the Air
Propellor Time - Primitive - Sickie Boy - Born on the Wind - Evolove

Robyn Hitchcock UK tour dates:

(Dates and information subject to change.)

April 2010

7 Apr Academy 2 Newcastle
8 Apr ABC 2 Glasgow
9 Apr Lemon Tree Aberdeen
11 Apr Club Academy Manchester
12 Apr Academy 2 Liverpool
13 Apr Academy 2 Sheffield
14 Apr Academy 2 Oxford
16 Apr Fleece Bristol
17 Apr The Globe Cardiff
18 Apr Academy 2 Birmingham
19 Apr Komedia Brighton
20 Apr Islington Academy London

Propellor Time
Robyn Hitchcock & the Venus 3
UK Release - 22 March 2010
Compact Disc FIT 047CD - Barcode 5060143300820
Vinyl FIT 047LP - Barcode 5060143300813
Ltd Ed Cassette FIT 047CAS - 5060143300844

"Anglo-psychedelic master" - The Independent

Robyn Hitchcock Official Website
Robyn Hitchcock MySpace

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>