Philistines release debut album Therewolves! - download new track "Woo Hoo Hoo"


San Francisco's Philistines will release their debut album Therewolves! on October 16, 2012.

The band has made album's lead track "Woo Hoo Hoo" available as an MP3 download.

Philistines were born of frustration. On the eve of recording a new record, Colin Daly's band mate and friend flew the coop for the East Coast, never to be heard from again. Around the anger stage of the grieving process, he called up his twin brother to vent. Chris tossed out an idea: Could he try his hand at writing leads over the skeletal songs? They decided then and there to exchange iPhone Memos and, in dispatches that travelled from Chicago to San Francisco and back again, new versions of old songs evolved. These versions would be set to tape at Tiny Telephone -- the same studio where many of their favorite bands recorded.

Philistines - "Woo Hoo Hoo":

This would be a far cry from the twins laying down Depeche Mode covers on the Tascam 4-track they received for their 16th birthday. In the 20 years since, Chris had travelled the globe in the workhorse band, Sweep the Leg Johnny, and Colin had found modest success in the power pop of Ex-Boyfriends. They also serendipitously chanced upon a consummate rhythm section in the guise of Vinnie Reeder and Conor Thompson, whose previous band, Vitamin Party, wouldn't sound out of place on the Lookout! roster.

The end result was mangled pop. The drums melodic and just outside of the pocket. The bass, propulsive and charging at one moment, could go quiet and claustrophobic the next. Chris' spiraling guitar leads transformed Colin's basic pop songs into gnarled ditties that zigged when they wanted to zag. There is a push and pull between major and minor present in every song, between the need to resolve and the choice to let the sour note linger, until that note no longer sounds sour at all. Even the catchiest song belies dark lyrics; never has the cynical refrain, "it's all been done," sounded so inspiring.

Above all, Philistines are the sum of its parts. "No other four people could have created these songs," Colin muses. "I guess somebody could write something similar, but they wouldn't sound like they'd been to hell and back."

Therewolves! Track List:

1. Woo Hoo Hoo (MP3 above)
2. Anyone Will Do
3. Complications
4. Sadly Temporary
5. We Know
6. Keep It Simple
7. Battle Stations
8. Red Alert
9. Whatcha Say
10. Nightmare

For more music and information, please visit:

Philistines bandcamp

Philistines Facebook

Buy Music and more: ||

Jenny May music

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases, Singles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>