Justin Timberlake FutureSex/LoveShow review

Justin Timberlake

For some, it's not cool to like Justin Timberlake. For others, he's the one. The Prince of Pop. The 'it' guy.

The more singles that Justin Timberlake releases, the more he's growing on me. His voice, the harmonies, the feel of the mix and the production on his songs are quality. When I first heard "Cry Me A River" I thought, "What is this?" It's got to be one of the best pop songs that I've heard so far in the 21st century.

Also, people want to work with him. His collaborations with other singers, producers and musicians confirms to me that there is 'something there' when it comes to not only his music, but his character as well. Established names in the music industry like 50 Cent, Missy Elliott, Beyonce, Nelly Furtado, Timbaland, Rick Rubin, Reba McEntire, Duran Duran and Snoop Dog are just a few of the names that he's already worked with.

On November 25th, 2007 Channel 4 in England aired FutureSex/LoveShow, Justin Timberlake's August 2007 concert at Madison Square Garden in New York City. I just happened to turn on the TV just a few minutes into the 2-hour show. I didn't plan on watching the whole thing, but that's what I ended up doing.

I can't recall ever seeing live footage of a Justin Timberlake concert like the FutureSex/LoveShow before. I was impressed. The concert came across as a great party atmosphere that included a spectacular light show with songs from the 'FutureSex/LoveSounds' album and more. The dancers were fun to watch - dressed in casual clothes most of the time - with the exception of the strippers/dancers for one of the songs!

At times Justin would dance on his own, which takes some nerve and a lot of confidence. The backup singers sounded and looked good. Timbaland made a guest appearance and for some songs, Justin played the piano/keyboard. His voice sounded great when he was dancing and he seems to be at the top of his game.

The word Future in both the title of his show and his album seems appropriate. With all that he's done so far, it will be interesting to see what the future holds for Justin Timberlake. It seems for him, the sky is the limit.

The FutureSex/LoveShow that aired on TV didn't include all that is available on the DVD that has just been released. It mainly showed the live performances with just some backstage footage.

Here's a track listing that I found for the Australian DVD release...not sure if this is the same track listing for the US and UK release:

(Unconfirmed Track Listing)

Disk 1
1. DVD1: Opening Conversation
2. FutureSex/LoveSounds
3. Like I Love You
4. My Love
5. Senorita
6. Sexy Ladies
7. Until The End Of Time
8. What Goes Around.../...COMES Around
9. Chop Me Up
10. Intermission - Jt & Timbaland
11. Rock Your Body
12. Gone
13. Take It From Here
14. Last Night
15. Damn Girl
16. Summer Love
17. Losing My Way
18. Cry Me A River
19. Lovestoned / I Think She Knows
20. Sexyback
21. (Another Song) All Over Again
22. Goodnights & Credits

Disk 2
1. DVD2: 1 On 1 With Jt
2. The Making Of FutureSex/LoveShow
3. Open Mic
4. Under The Stage
5. Lovestoned/I Think She Knows (Justice Remix)

Futuresex/Loveshow - Live from Madison Square Garden DVD on amazon.com

FutureSex/LoveShow DVD on amazon.co.uk

For more information go to:

Justin Timberlake Official Website

By: Jenny May - Band Weblogs

Shop music and more:

Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About Jenny May

Jenny May is the founder of Band Weblogs. Based in Oxford, England (originally from New England), Band Weblogs was created in 2005. With a passion for music, Jenny May has performed with bands in the US and the UK, her music has appeared in films, she was a vocal coach for the Yamaha Rock School and has worked on music projects with musicians such as Jon Fishman (Phish), Fyfe Dangerfield (Guillemots) and Cisco Adler (Shwayze). Jenny is currently writing music commentary and reviews for Band Weblogs and writing, recording and performing music with songwriter and musician Dave Tommo.
This entry was posted in Albums, Music, New Releases, Reviews and Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>