Music News | Music Reviews + Commentary | New Releases | Interviews | Movies

RSS Feed For Blog Entries

The Move Anthology 1966-1972 features unreleased tracks + tour dates

The Move Anthology 1966-1972

More than 40 years in the making. 62 career-spanning tracks and well over three hours of Move magnificence on one superbly remastered 4-CD box set!

The Move Anthology 1966-1972 features classic hit singles, b-sides, choice album cuts, a wealth of previously unreleased material including never-before-heard songs, demos, alternate takes and live recordings from 1966-72. The full-colour 72-page booklet with rare and unseen photos & memorabilia includes extensive 10,000-word Move history & band interviews by with complete track-by-track info and UK discography. Set for release 27 October, 2008 on Salvo/Fly.

The Move - Anthology 1966-1972 on

The Move Anthology

The story of The Move is as mad, bad and dangerous as any rock 'n' roll tale gets. The cast includes four loutish hot-heads, one shy songwriter, and a scheming, Mexican 'tached manager. And let's not forget one furious British Prime Minister. Travelling with the band in the back of the van is one nasty looking axe and a case of smoke bombs. Chasing them out of the nation's clubs and ballrooms is a queue of fist-waving venue managers demanding explanations for the crowd disturbances and splintered stages.

That's hardly the start of it. There's a quite brilliant procession of singles that helped create a second golden age of British pop. Secret service agents loitering menacingly in the shadows. Acid-induced breakdowns. Boozy blackouts. A High Court appearance decked out in granny perms, floral jackets and dark glasses. Probably the most notorious and costly postcard ever produced. High jinx with Jimi Hendrix. Endless rows, punch-ups and changes in personnel. And, quite possibly, the most protracted split in pop history.

On a happier note, The Move's work has never been so highly regarded, and this latest, career-crunching 4-CD collection, the sovereign set in Salvo/Fly's programme of 40th anniversary releases, presents the band in various hues. From Who-influenced mod mavericks to beat group harmony specialists, flower power opportunists to power pop sophisticates, and psychedelic jamming band to progressive and hard rock pioneers, The Move are revealed here as a defining example of late '60s /early '70s pop era eclectics.

2008 Tour Dates:
featuring Bev Bevan & Trevor Burton

(Dates and information subject to change. Go to The Move's website for the latest tour dates and information.)

11/10/08 Artrix Centre Bromsgrove, UK CANCELLED
01/11/08 The Barn Birmingham, UK Tel. 0121 356 5706 The Move
07/11/08 Butlins Bognor Regis, UK The Move
22/11/08 Nailcote Hall Birmingham, UK The Move
05/12/08 Kings Heath C.C. Birmingham, UK Tel. 0121 444 1913 The Move
13/12/08 Aston Wood G.C. Sutton Coldfield, UK Call Helen on 0121 580 7800 ext 4 The Move
19/12/08 The Asylum Birmingham, UK CANCELLED


CD 1: 1966 - 1967

1. You're The One I Need *
2. I Can't Hear You No More *
3. Is It True *
4. Respectable *
5. Night of Fear (alternate version) *
6. Disturbance (undubbed alternate version)
7. I Can Hear The Grass Grow (full-length version) *
8. Move
9. Wave The Flag And Stop The Train
10. (Here We Go Round) The Lemon Tree (stereo) **
11. Flowers & Lemon Tea (Tony Visconti talks to the players…) *
12. Flowers In The Rain
13. Cherry Blossom Clinic (enhanced stereo) **
14. Vote For Me (mono)
15. Fire Brigade (early piano version; rough mix) *
16. Useless Information
17. Yellow Rainbow (enhanced stereo) **
18. Kilroy Was Here (enhanced stereo) **
19. Fire Brigade
20. The Girl Outside (alternate take) *
21. Mist On A Monday Morning (enhanced stereo) **
22. Flowers In The Rain (acoustic version; rough mix) *
23. Simple Simon (take 6 backing track; rough mix) *

CD2: Live at the Marquee 1968

1. Move Bolero (live) *
2. It'll Be Me (live) *
3. Too Much In Love (live) *
4. Flowers In The Rain (live) *
5. Fire Brigade (live) *
6. Stephanie Knows Who (live) *
7. Something Else (live) *
8. So You Want To Be A Rock'n'Roll Star (live) *
9. The Price Of Love (live) *
10. Piece Of My Heart (live) *
11. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher And Higher (live) *
12. Sunshine Help Me (live) *

CD3: 1968 - 1969

1. Somethin' Else (EP version)
2. Sunshine Help Me (EP version)
3. Wild Tiger Woman (UK single edit) **
4. Omnibus (enhanced stereo) **
5. Blackberry Way
6. A Certain Something (piano version; rough mix) *
7. Curly
8. Second Class (She's Too Good For Me) (part 1) *
9. Second Class (She's Too Good For Me) (part 2) *
10. Beautiful Daughter (reduced mix) *
11. This Time Tomorrow
12. Hello Susie (abridged) **
13. Don't Make My Baby Blue
14. The Last Thing On My Mind
15. Open My Eyes (live at Fillmore West 1969) *

CD4: 1969 - 1972

1. I Can Hear The Grass Grow (Fillmore West 1969) *
2. Brontosaurus (US promo edit) *
3. When Alice Comes Back To The Farm
4. Turkish Tram Conductor Blues (take 5; rough mix)
5. Feel Too Good
6. Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice
7. Ella James
8. Tonight (US edited version) **
9. Do Ya (edited version)
10. Chinatown
11. California Man
12. The Duke Of Edinburgh's Lettuce

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased on CD

The Move - Live

The Move Website

More Music:

Jenny May / Band Weblogs on Twitter

Search for music: |

Post a Comment

More blog entries:

Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed
Subscribe to Band Weblogs Podcast Show by Email | RSS Feed

Trackback URL

  • More information

  • Follow me on Twitter! My review and how I met Jim Rice
  • Submit Music News
  • 10 things bands can do to become famous
  • 10 reasons why music blogs are great for bands
  • Bands on Twitter
  • Free online distribution for bands, musicians - music blog entries + band press releases
  • Music publicists, PR companies: READ THIS!
  • Buy Music!
  • Band Blogs/Music Blogs