The Villains to release sophomore album VELOCITY - tracklisting

The Villains

Atlanta-based Americana band, The Villains, announced their sophomore album, VELOCITY, will be released on February 14, 2012, via Toucan Cove Entertainment/Universal Republic.

Produced by Stan Lynch (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Don Henley) and Billy Chapin (Backstreet Boys, Edwin McCain) and mixed by industry veteran John Kurzweg (Jewel, Creed), the 12 new songs on VELOCITY represent the experiences and emotions that accompanied the recent period of growth for the band.

In the spirit of acts such as The Band, The Eagles, and Fleetwood Mac, The Villains utilize different singers and styles for a cohesive, but aurally interesting mix.

Songwriters such as Tom Douglas (Miranda Lambert, Tim McGraw), Stan Lynch (Don Henley, The Eagles) and Richard Feldman (Eric Clapton, Joe Cocker) were enlisted. From the blistering opening track "Cadillac" to the optimistic "I've Got A Feeling," VELOCITY is a relatable slice of life set to music created by five industry vets.

All five Villains, Magno, Dan Call, Sean McNally, Michael Wilkes, and Jimmy James Schmitt, have a rich history of writing, recording, and touring. Each has recorded and performed with many mainstream and indie artists from Nashville to New York, as well as touring the world together and individually. As the backing band for Keni Thomas, they supported Keith Urban, Trace Atkins, Montgomery Gentry and performed USO shows, and at the Pentagon.

The Villains - "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" video:

The Villains 2010 debut record, JUST ANOTHER SATURDAY NIGHT, yielded two Triple A charting singles, "Let's Forget About It Tonight" and "You Don't Have To Say", both co-written by Peter Stroud (guitarist for Sheryl Crow and Don Henley). The record was a critical success and the band supported Blues Traveler and Sister Hazel through the end of the year.

The Villains will be on tour to support VELOCITY in 2012. The record will be available in your favorite record stores and at online distributors. For more information, please visit

Toucan Cove Entertainment, LLC is manufactured and marketed by Universal Republic, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc. Toucan Cove Entertainment is home to a beloved and diverse roster of artists in genres from pop and rock, hip hop and Americana to Celtic and electronic. More information can be found at


1. Cadillac
2. Rainy Day Girl
3. I've Got a Feeling
4. Don't Know A Thing
5. This Is Nowhere
6. You're The Only Right
7. Down For The Last Time
8. Bourbon Angel
9. Adelaine
10. Now You're Free
11. 747 (Wasn't Looking For You)
12. Heartache, Whiskey, and Beer

The Villains Official Website

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases, Videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

One Response to The Villains to release sophomore album VELOCITY - tracklisting

  1. The Villains says:

    For a limited time, you can get a FREE download of a new song off THE VILLAINS upcoming album 'Velocity'. It's called 'Down For the Last Time' and only available on Facebook! Here's the link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>