Weezer return with "The Red Album" + Pork and Beans single


Following months of internet rumour - some true, most not; some started by the band, most not - Weezer have revealed details of their new long-player, which for the third time in the band's six-album history, will be titled simply 'Weezer'.

Whether by accident or design, Weezer have released an eponymous record every seven years. In 1994 their debut, since christened 'The Blue Album', broke through on the back of worldwide hit "Buddy Holly" (watch video).

'The Green Album' followed in 2001, propelled by alterna-smash "Hash Pipe" (watch video), and now 'Weezer', already being referred to as 'The Red Album', looks set to continue that trend.

'The Red Album' not only marks Weezer's clean sweep of the primary colour chart, but also a high point in the band's 14-year evolution, and the moment where the band realises its power pop dream. The Jacknife Lee-produced lead single, "Pork and Beans", is released in the UK on 23 June, 2008.

Riding a wave of frontman Rivers Cuomo's passive-aggressive power-chord power-play, the song set the internet ablaze when it leaked in early April and is already being regarded as a masterpiece by fans and the internet mafia. It is joined on the album by nine other soon-to-be classics, including the epic slacker-cum-prog rock of "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)", arguably the most ambitious Weezer song ever committed to tape. There are also two UK-only bonus tracks: covers of Talk Talk's "Life Is What You Make It" and "The Weight" by The Band.

'The Red Album' is the first Weezer long-player to feature all four members contributing songwriting credits and singing lead vocals. "Automatic" is written and sung by drummer Pat Wilson, whilst guitarist Brian Bell delivers "Thought I Knew". Meanwhile, bassist Scott Shriner co-wrote "Cold Dark World" with Rivers.

The full tracklisting is:

1. Troublemaker
2. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)
3. Pork and Beans
4. Heart Songs
5. Everybody Get Dangerous
6. Dreamin'
7. Thought I Knew
8. Cold Dark World
9. Automatic
10. The Angel and the One
11. The Weight (UK Bonus Track)
12. Life Is What You Make It (UK Bonus Track)

Comprised of sessions produced by Rick Rubin, Jacknife Lee and the band themselves, the album is undeniably Weezer, playing like a particularly satisfying pick n' mix of the band's finest moments from the aforementioned primary colour albums, and the intervening long-players Pinkerton (1996), Maladriot (2002) and Make Believe (2005).

The album 'Weezer' is out in the UK on 9 June, 2008 (digital) and 16 June (physical).

The single, "Pork and Beans", follows on 23 June via Geffen/Interscope via Polydor

Weezer (The Red Album) on amazon.co.uk

Weezer (Red Album) on amazon.com


Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk
Like on Facebook: www.facebook.com/BandWeblogs
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music: JennyMay.com

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music, New Releases, Press Releases, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>