Music News | Music Reviews + Commentary | New Releases | Interviews | Movies

RSS Feed For Blog Entries

Smoke Fairies to release 'Frozen Heart' EP; tracklisting

Smoke Fairies

Smoke Fairies are set to release their 'Frozen Heart EP' on Monday June 29, 2009.

Packaged as a limited edition 7" with a free 5-track CD the release follows last summer's critically acclaimed debut single "Living With Ghosts".

Since then the Smoke Fairies, Katherine Blamire and Jessica Davies, have been writing new material and, alongside a stellar cast of musicians, in the studio to record.

The drums came courtesy of Andy Newmark (John Lennon, David Bowie) double bass by Al Mobbs (Gorillaz etc). "Frozen Heart" and "Morning Light" came from the session with David Coulter in the producers chair (David is famed for his work on musical saw and with Tom Waits and Nick Cave and more recently as musical director). The other three remaining tracks on the CD were recorded and produced with collaborator Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno & David Byrne, David Holmes, Jarvis Cocker).

Smoke Fairies

The lead track "Frozen Heart" is the tale of two lost and confused people on a journey. Musically it hits all the Smoke Fairies buttons; a juxtaposition of deep-south blues, traditional English folk all mixed together with a genre defying bravado usually saved for the likes of Hendrix and The Doors. As Katherine explains, "For the Smoke Fairies, folk and blues have the same roots, the same darkness to them."

Katherine and Jessica, first got together at school in Sussex, before decamping to Vancouver and New Orleans. Since returning to the UK they have started to get public and critical recognition for their unique, ethereal and hypnotic music.

Building on the success of their debut single, the end of 2008 saw the Smoke Fairies sharing the stage with the legendary Van Dyke Parks for a Mojo Magazine night at London's Jazz Cafe, playing as part of Richard Hawley's infamous Devil's Arse gig deep in a northern cave and capping the year performing alongside Jarvis Cocker and Patrick Wolf at the "Twisted Christmas" concert at The Barbican.

Frozen Heart EP
Released : 29th June 2009
Formats : 7" and CD package/ Download
Cat Number : HEROES901
Label : Music For Heroes Records

1. Frozen Heart*
2. Fences
3. Morning Light
4. We Had Lost Our Minds
5. He's Moving On* (* = 7" only)

Smoke Fairies are on tour w/ The Handsome Family. For the latest tour dates and information, go to:

Smoke Fairies MySpace

More Music:

Jenny May / Band Weblogs on Twitter

Search for music: |

Post a Comment

More blog entries:

Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed
Subscribe to Band Weblogs Podcast Show by Email | RSS Feed

Trackback URL

  • More information

  • Follow me on Twitter! My review and how I met Jim Rice
  • Submit Music News
  • 10 things bands can do to become famous
  • 10 reasons why music blogs are great for bands
  • Bands on Twitter
  • Free online distribution for bands, musicians - music blog entries + band press releases
  • Music publicists, PR companies: READ THIS!
  • Buy Music!
  • Band Blogs/Music Blogs