Monsters of Folk DEBUT album + 2009 tour dates

Monsters of Folk announce Fall tour dates

Set to release self-titled debut album this fall

Monsters of Folk

Monsters of Folk was born on the road five years ago when My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Bright Eyes’ Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis, and singer/songwriter M. Ward toured together and regularly sat in on each other’s sets.

Now armed with the eclectic collaborations that make up their debut album, the illustrious quartet will reconvene for several Fall tour dates.

Throughout each show of the tour, the four members will be switching instruments and trading roles, maintaining the freewheeling and highly collaborative spirit of their work together thus far.

In the spirit of folk-camaraderie, Monsters of Folk is partnering with Air Traffic Control, a resource for musicians' philanthropic and social change work, to donate monies raised from ticket sales. The band will be donating $1 from every ticket sold on the tour to local non-profits.

"On a daily basis, we see how hard organizations like these work to make our communities, country and world a better place." said Erin Potts, the organization's executive director. "In a time when economic resources are harder to come by and organizations are overwhelmed by urgency and need, the Monsters of Folk tour's charitable activities are a significant way to energize and support the tireless and often overlooked work that these organizers are doing.”

Pre-sale tickets for the US and Canada shows will be available beginning Tuesday, July 28, 2009, followed by the public on-sale beginning Friday, July 31st. Tickets for the UK / EU shows will be available beginning Tuesday, July 27th. For more info please visit

Buy Music:

Monsters of Folk on

Monsters of Folk on

Monsters of Folk Fall 2009 tour dates:

(Dates and information subject to change.)

October 2009

13 Vancouver, BC- Orpheum
14 Portland, OR- Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
15 Seattle, WA- Paramount Theatre
17 Oakland, CA- Fox Theater
18 Los Angeles, CA- The Greek Theater
20 San Diego, CA- Spreckels Theatre
21 Phoenix, AZ- Orpheum Theater
22 Santa Barbara, CA- Santa Barbara Bowl
28 Omaha, NE- Holland Center
29 Minneapolis, MN- Orpheum Theatre
30 Chicago, IL- Auditorium Theatre
31 Louisville, KY- Louisville Palace Theatre

November 2009

02 Toronto, ON- Massey Hall
03 Boston, MA- The Orpheum
06 New York, NY- United Palace
08 New York, NY- Beacon Theater
09 Philadelphia, PA- Academy of Music
12 Stockholm- Philadelphia Church
14 Berlin- Huxleys Neue Welt
15 Copenhagen- Vega
17 London- Troxy
18 Paris- Elysee Montmartre
19 Koln- E-Werk
21 The Hague- Crossing Border
22 Antwerp- Crossing Border

Artist: Monsters of Folk
Release: 'Monsters of Folk'
Release Date: September 22, 2009
Label: Shangri-La Music

For a complete list of charities and for more information on Air Traffic Control, please visit:

Air Traffic Control Official Website

Monsters of Folk Official Website
Monsters of Folk on Twitter

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Featured, Music News, New Releases, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

One Response to Monsters of Folk DEBUT album + 2009 tour dates

  1. KHALINA says:

    come to winnipeg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>