Max Weinberg joins Drum-Off 2009 lineup + Tommy Lee, Danny Carey, Jay Weinberg

Max Weinberg to perform alongside his song Jay Weinberg at Guitar Center's Drum-Off Finals!

Drum-Off 2009

Legendary Drummer of Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band and NBC's The Tonight Show To Appear in "Bezerk" An Exclusive Project Featuring TOMMY LEE and Street Drum Corps' FRANK ZUMMO with CHAD SMITH (Red Hot Chili Peppers), MATT SORUM (Guns N' Roses, Velvet Revolver), JOSÉ PASILLAS (Incubus), And More

Top 5 Undiscovered Drummers in the Nation Set to Compete For Title of Drum-Off Champion, $25,000 Cash and More

January 8, 2010 - The Wiltern - Los Angeles

Guitar Center announced that Max Weinberg will join a star-studded list of drummers including his son, Jay Weinberg to perform in "Bezerk" - an exclusive project commissioned by Guitar Center and presented by Tommy Lee (Mötley Crüe) and the Street Drum Corps' Frank Zummo - as part of the upcoming Drum-Off Grand Finals, taking place January 8, 2010 at The Wiltern in Los Angeles.

Artists performing in "Bezerk" include Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Matt Sorum (Guns N' Roses, Velvet Revolver), José Pasillas (Incubus), Abe Cunningham (Deftones), DJ Aero, Sully Erna (Godsmack), Jay Weinberg and BANG!.

Guitar Center's Drum-Off 2009 Finals with Tommy Lee:

Buy Drums on

Hosted by Stephen Perkins (Jane's Addiction), this historic evening will also include a very special tribute to the legendary John Bonham by Jason Bonham, along with an exclusive collaborative performance by Danny Carey (Tool) and Brann Dailor (Mastodon®).

These all-star drummers will unite onstage to celebrate the night's main event:

A final performance by the top five undiscovered drummers in the nation, who will compete for the title of "Guitar Center Drum-Off Champion 2009", winning a prize package worth more than $40,000 and becoming the nation’s top undiscovered drummer of the year.

The five drummers battling for Guitar Center's Drum-Off Championship crown are:

Troy Molsberry (Carlsbad, CA)
Eugine McBride (Flint, MI)
Stanley Jamal Hampton (Smithtown, NY)
Ramon Sampson (Cordova, TN)
Michael McGrath (Henderson, NV)

Beating out more than 4,000 other drummers in several rounds of local and regional competitions over the past several months, the five finalists will now face the final round of competition judged by a panel of highly accomplished drum celebrities including Peter Erskine (Steely Dan), Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Drew Hester (Foo Fighters / Joe Walsh), Thomas Lang, Jason Sutter (Chris Cornell), Kenny Aronoff (John Mellencamp / Sessions Legend), John Tempesta (The Cult), Tony Royster Jr. (Jay-Z), Nisan Stewart (Jamie Foxx / 50 Cent) and Ray Luzier (Korn).

Guitar Center will also induct drum icons Billy Cobham and John Bonham into Guitar Center's Drum Legends as part of the evening's festivities.

Tickets for the show are only $10, and available at

Drum Off Official Website

Guitar Center Official Website

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>