Phish 12/30/97 live from Madison Square Garden, NYC released on Jemp Records

Phish - Madison Square Garden, 12/30/97

We are pleased to present the release of Phish's December 30, 1997 live concert from Madison Square Garden in New York City.

Phish on

After a standout show on 12/29/97, the band gave a loose, funky performance on the second night of their three-night stand at Madison Square Garden. The band came out of the gates smoking on night three of a four-show holiday tour on December 30th with "Sneakin' Sally Thru The Alley" and "Taste".

The nearly 3.5 hour marathon was capped by a playful, non-stop second set that highlighted a sublime "AC/DC Bag", rare "McGrupp And The Watchful Hosemasters" and a heavily-narrated "Harpua" which introduced elements of the New Year's Eve Udder Ball gag and Tom Marshall's mysterious appearance from Trey's past for Phish's first and only cover of The Proclaimer's "I Wanna Be (500 Miles)".

An extended "Harry Hood",  "My Soul" and a deep, four-song encore of "Carini", "Black-Eyed Katy", a reprised "Sneakin' Sally" and "Frankenstein" completed a curfew-breaking second set so long that the band got to wish the audience an early happy new year. Paul Languedoc's 2-track soundboard mix mastered by Fred Kevorkian was sync'd to all the available video shot from the front-of-house position to create this latest LivePhish Video offering. 12/30/97 Madison Square Garden is an excellent example of just how fun a Phish Holiday show could be. Alone or as a necessary companion to the previous show, this is must-hear (and must-see) Phish from the archives.

This concert is available now for download at (MP3 and FLAC) and on CD (available also at Phish Dry Goods) as part of the LivePhish series, packaged in an innovative and earth-friendly (fully recycled) folding softcase digi-pak. Video of this concert (with fully sync'd soundboard audio) is also available at We've also created specially priced bundles for CD+MP3, CD+VIDEO, and FLAC+VIDEO.

Track List:

1. Sneakin' Sally Thru The Alley
2. Taste
3. Water In The Sky
4. Punch You In The Eye
5. Stash
6. Chalk Dust Torture
7. A Day In The Life

1. AC/DC Bag
2. McGrupp And The Watchful Hosemasters
3. Harpua
4. I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)
5. Harpua
6. Izabella

1. Harry Hood
2. My Soul
3. Sleeping Monkey
4. Guyute
5. Carini
6. Black-Eyed Katy
7. Sneakin' Sally Thru The Alley
8. Frankenstein

Live Phish

Phish Dry Goods Shop

Phish Official Website

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Bands, New Releases, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>