RAISE Hope For Congo ft Norah Jones, Mos Def, Sheryl Crow

The Enough Project and Mercer Street Records Present: RAISE Hope For Congo

RAISE Hope For Congo

A compilation to help stop the world's worst violence against women and girls as a result of conflict in Democratic Republic of the Congo

Curated by music expert Nic Harcourt, the compilation features exclusive tracks from renowned artists such as Norah Jones, Mos Def, Sheryl Crow, Angelique Kidjo, Damien Rice, Amadou & Mariam and Bat For Lashes

Available digitally June 8th; Physical release on June 22nd

Enough, a project of the Center for American Progress to end genocide and crimes against humanity, has joined forces with Mercer Street Records to release a special compilation album curated by leading music expert Nic Harcourt (Los Angeles Times, KCRW Radio, A&E Network).

Buy CDs, MP3s, more:

Raise Hope for Congo on Amazon.com

Raise Hope for Congo on Amazon.co.uk

The compilation, titled RAISE Hope For Congo, brings together many of contemporary music's leading artists in solidarity with Congolese women who have been the target of violence and rape amidst war in the region fueled by the demand for conflict minerals used in electronics from cell phones to computers.

The incredible genre-spanning album includes exclusive unreleased tracks from Norah Jones, Mos Def, Damien Rice, Angelique Kidjo, Bat For Lashes, Rodrigo y Gabriella, Amadou & Mariam and more as well as a special reading from Sheryl Crow.

The compilation was digitally released June 8th, and physical release on June 22, 2010.

Listen to tracks via the widget:

RAISE Hope For Congo was conceived by executive principle of the Unison Agency, Shahin Shahida, who serves as the compilation's executive producer.

After reading Not on Our Watch, a book by the co-founder of Enough John Prendergast, Shahida saw the need for a compilation that would help open the world's eyes to the crisis in the Congo.

Shahida's vision for the compilation was shared by colleague Zeid Masri, an investor in Downtown Music, who helped set the wheels in motion to produce and make the release a reality.

The Enough Project and Mercer Street Records have produced this compilation in the effort to make the protection and empowerment of Congo's women a priority, as well as inspire individuals around the world to raise their voice for peace in Congo.

John Prendergast, a prominent human rights activist and author who was the director of African Affairs at the National Security Council during the Clinton administration, says, "One of the principal reasons why there is little international response to the terrible human rights crimes in Congo -- particularly against women and girls -- is that people just don't know that these things are happening. This compilation album will be a beacon to light the path to educating hundreds of thousands of people about the issues in Congo and what all of us can do to help end the suffering there."

All profits raised through this compilation will help fund critical field research and awareness raising efforts that will work to end the conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, where the insatiable worldwide demand for electronic products is fueling violence and the use of rape as a weapon of war.

The conflict has become the deadliest since World War II and the most dangerous place in the world for women and girls.

RAISE Hope For Congo compilation track listing:

1. Lonely Soldier - Damien Rice
2. Not Immune - Imaad Wasif
3. Angel Mom - Jesca Hoop
4. 40 - Meshell Ndegeocello
5. Je t'aime - Staff Benda Bilili
6. Leila - Angelique Kidjo
7. Na Miso - Chantal Kreviazuk
8. World of Trouble - Norah Jones
9. My Name is Mwamaroyi - Sheryl Crow
10. Don't Let Me - Amel Larrieux
11. Raise Hope - Om├ękongo Dibinga & Shahin Shahida
12. Never Again - Ozomatli & The Agahoza Shalom Youth Village
13. Sleep Alone - Bat For Lashes
14. Before You Were Young (Live at Joe's Pub) - Travis
15. Hora Zero (Live at Wecheter) - Rodrigo y Gabriela
16. Tambara - Amadou & Mariam
17. Nsimba & Nzuzi - Konono No 1
18. Priority (A Cappella) - Mos Def

Buy CDs, MP3s, more:

Raise Hope for Congo on Amazon.com

Raise Hope for Congo on Amazon.co.uk

RAISE Hope For Congo Official Website

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk
Like on Facebook: www.facebook.com/BandWeblogs
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music: JennyMay.com

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Bands, Music News, New Releases and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>