Patti Smith releases Outside Society - a new collection of songs - tracklist

Patti Smith Outside Society

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee Patti Smith raises the curtain on Outside Society, a new collection of her signature songs on the Arista and Columbia labels.

The landmark 18-song release marks the first single-CD collection to span Patti's entire body of recorded work.

The chronologically arranged tracks move from 1975 (her debut album, Horses, with "Gloria" and "Free Money") through 2007 (Twelve, with her cover of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit").

Outside Society will be available 12th September, 2011 through Sony CMG, a division of SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

The music on Outside Society is newly remastered by award-winning engineer Greg Calbi and Patti Smith band member Tony Shanahan. The CD booklet will feature brief recollections of each song written by Patti, who personally supervised the choices.

Of "Because The Night," for example, Patti writes: "Bruce Springsteen gave me a great gift in allowing me to lend verses to his beautifully constructed anthem. My contribution was written for my future husband, Fred 'Sonic' Smith. Though we have performed it hundreds of times, the strong response it draws always makes it fresh and exciting to sing."

The release of Outside Society caps the year and a half of critical praise and adulation that has greeted the publication of Patti's New York Times non-fiction bestseller Just Kids (Ecco, January 2010).

In her autobiographical memoir, wrote the Times, "the godmother of punk recalls her time with Robert Mapplethorpe and their yearnings for a life in art in New York City."

In November 2010, coinciding with the paperback edition of Just Kids, Patti received the 2010 National Book Award for nonfiction, at a special awards ceremony held in New York. The award topped a list of honors that were also bestowed by:

The American Library Association (ALA) - the list of Notable Books of 2010
The Los Angeles Times - annual Book Prize finalist in Current Interest field
National Book Critics Circle Award - finalist in Autobiography/Memoir field
Publishers Weekly magazine - the list of the Top 10 Best Books of 2010

The release of Outside Society also precedes the Polar Music Prize gala in Sweden on August 30th.

Patti Smith and the Kronos Quartet were selected as Laureates to receive the prestigious award from His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden.

"By devoting her life to art in all its forms," said the Polar Music Prize committee, "Patti Smith has demonstrated how much rock'n'roll there is in poetry and how much poetry there is in rock'n'roll. Patti Smith is a Rimbaud with Marshall amps. She has transformed the way an entire generation looks, thinks and dreams. With her inimitable soul of an artist, Patti Smith proves over and over again that people have the power."

The establishment recognition of Just Kids has won an enormous new following for Patti Smith - and Outside Society now provides the perfect entry point into her music for those new fans.

Writing about "Trampin'," the final track on Outside Society, Patti muses in autobiographical style reminiscent of Just Kids: "This unique spiritual, originally sung by Marion Anderson, was performed live in the studio with my daughter Jesse. It sings for the weary traveler seeking a home after years of work, words, and wandering."

Outside Society by Patti Smith (Sony CMG 8869794315/2) tracklist

1. Gloria (Horses, 1975)
2. Free Money (Horses, 1975)
3. Ain't It Strange (Radio Ethiopia, 1976)
4. Pissing In A River (Radio Ethiopia, 1976)
5. Because The Night (Easter, 1978)
6. Rock N Roll Nigger (Easter, 1978)
7. Dancing Barefoot (Wave, 1979)
8. Frederick (Wave, 1979)
9. So You Want To Be A Rock N Roll Star (Wave, 1979)
10. People Have the Power (Dream of Life, 1988)
11. Up There Down There (Dream of Life, 1988)
12. Beneath The Southern Cross (Gone Again, 1996)
13. Summer Cannibals (Gone Again, 1996)
14. 1959 (Peace and Noise, 1997)
15. Glitter In Their Eyes (Gung Ho, 2000)
16. Lo and Beholden (radio edit) (Gung Ho, 2000)
17. Smells Like Teen Spirit (Twelve, 2007)
18. Trampin’ (Trampin', 2004)

Buy CDs, MP3s, more:

Patti Smith Outside Society on

Patti Smith Outside Society on

Patti Smith Official Website
Sony CMG

Search for CDs, Mp3s, more: |
Like on Facebook:
Follow Music News on Twitter
More Music:

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Music News, New Releases and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>