Music News | Music Reviews + Commentary | New Releases | Interviews

RSS Feed For Blog Entries

Bettie Serveert to release Pharmacy of Love – watch “Deny All” video

Bettie Serveert to release new record on March 23, 2010

Bettie Serveert

Bettie Serveert’s new album, Pharmacy of Love, will be released on March 23rd by Second Motion Records in the U.S. and by Sound of Pop in Canada.

Fans will get a preview of the new material with the acclaimed Dutch indie rock band’s digital EP, Deny All, which will be available beginning January 26, 2010 on the iTunes Music Store.

Watch “Deny All” video:

In addition to lead single “Deny All,” the EP will include a long version of “Calling (XL)” and a small version of “Souls Travel (small)” plus “Waiting for Control,” a bonus track that won’t appear on Pharmacy of Love.

With the band employing a “back to basics” approach, Pharmacy of Love captures the kind of raw, contagious energy that has long characterized Bettie Serveert’s live shows.

Buy Music:

Bettie Serveert on

Bettie Serveert on

Recorded earlier this year in a Belgian recording studio, founding members Carol van Dyk (vocals/guitar), Peter Visser (guitar) and Herman Bunskoeke (bass) were joined on the new album by special guest Joppe Molenaar (of the Dutch band Voicst) on drums.

“It’s the blow upon a bruise,” sings van Dyk on “Love Lee,” and the phrase perfectly describes Bettie Serveert’s proclivity for cloaking the starkest emotions with verve and aplomb. From the urgent “Deny All” to the anguished album closer, “What They Call Love,” Pharmacy of Love is a masterful collection of songs that are by turns raucous, shimmering and shiver-inducing as they examine the vagaries of life and love.

Bettie Serveert released its debut album, Palomine, in 1992. Signed to Matador Records in the States, the band was championed by critics and quickly became a favorite at college radio with singles “Tom Boy” and “Kid’s Allright” getting substantial airplay.

Lamprey, which Melody Maker praised for having the most tangled, desolate, real life guitar sound of the year, was released in 1995, followed by 1997’s Dust Bunnies, which the band recorded in Woodstock, NY with producer Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Lemonheads).

The band toured extensively, opening for bands such as Belly, Dinosaur Jr, Buffalo Tom, Superchunk, Jeff Buckley, Wilco and Counting Crows. After its 1998 live album of Velvet Underground covers, Bettie Serveert Plays Venus in Furs and Other Velvet Underground Songs, the band released a string of studio albums – Private Suit, Log 22 and Attagirl – on its own label, Palomine Records.

Celebrating its 15th anniversary, Bettie Serveert released Bare Stripped Naked in 2006. A semi-acoustic CD/DVD package of primarily new material, it was hailed by as “a rousing and heroic reminder of what a great band they were and continue to be.”

The track listing for Pharmacy of Love is as follows:

1. Deny All
2. Semaphore
3. Love Lee
4. Mossie
5. The Pharmacy
6. Souls Travel
7. Calling
8. Change4Me
9. What They Call Love

Second Motion Records

Bettie Serveert Official Website

More Music:

Jenny May / Band Weblogs on Twitter

Search for music: |

Post a Comment

More blog entries:

Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed
Subscribe to Band Weblogs Podcast Show by Email | RSS Feed

Trackback URL

  • More information

  • Follow me on Twitter! My review and how I met Jim Rice
  • Submit Music News
  • 10 things bands can do to become famous
  • 10 reasons why music blogs are great for bands
  • Bands on Twitter
  • Free online distribution for bands, musicians - music blog entries + band press releases
  • Music publicists, PR companies: READ THIS!
  • Buy Music!
  • Band Blogs/Music Blogs