Videos | New Releases | Band Blogs + Music Blogs | Interviews

RSS Feed For Blog EntriesCurrent Article

Hot Chip w/ Robert Wyatt and Geese EP set for release + Grammy nomination

Hot Chip

Despite their feverish schedule this year which took in numerous side projects, solo records, countless dancefloor-igniting remixes, production duties and, of course relentless touring (which culminated in their triumphal homecoming shows at Brixton Academy in November) that indefatigable, delightfully off-kilter five-headed electro pop colossus known as Hot Chip have somehow found the time to assemble a lovingly put together little present for their fans.

Hot Chip on

Hot Chip on

Not only that, they have managed to rope in the services of none other than the godfather of the experimental psych-prog world, Robert Wyatt and kindred mischievous electronic spirits Geese to help out as well.

Long recognised as one of the pioneers of avant-jazz rock (as recently as this year by Domino Records infact, who have just re released his back catalogue), from his beginnings as a member of Soft Machine and through his collaborations with Scritti Politti and Syd Barrett, Robert Wyatt brings his quietly magical touch to 3 songs personally chosen from Hot Chip’s 2008 album ‘Made in the Dark’.

The result - as recorded at Gallery Studios earlier this year - are several mutations of songs that are as delicate and whimsical as they are adventurous and distinctive, be it the quixotic cornet and jew’s harp on “Made in the Dark”, or Wyatt’s singular vocals and whistling on “Whistle for Will”, or the lush added effects and atypical arrangements on “We’re Looking for a Lot of Love”.

Meanwhile, Hot Chip’s old friends and collaborators Geese (aka Emma and Vince from The Elysian Quartet) also lent a hand, reworking the new, Robert Wyatt assisted “We’re Looking…” while completely overhauling “One Pure Thought” from a straight-ahead floor shaker into something stranger, dreamier, but no less lovely. All in all, a deliciously unpredictable collaboration made in quirk-pop heaven.

The EP will be available January 27, 2009 at select indie record shops (visit to find a store near you).

Fans can download 2 tracks from the EP on from on December 19, 2008, thus providing a stimulus that is musical and financial for us all.

Lastly, congratulations is in order for Hot Chip, as they picked up their first Grammy nomination for Best Dance Recording for the track “Ready For The Floor”.

The Annual Grammy Awards will be announced live on on Feb. 8, 2009 (8 - 11:30 p.m. ET/PT) on CBS.

CD Tracklisting:
Available from indie retailers 27th January.

1. Made in the Dark (with Robert Wyatt)
2. Whistle for Will (with Robert Wyatt)
3. We’re Looking for a Lot of Love (with Robert Wyatt and Geese)
4. One Pure Thought (remixed by Geese)

Hot Chip MySpace
Hot Chip Official Website

Follow me on Twitter!

Post a Comment

Search for music: |

Listen to music: The Tommos on MySpace

More blog entries:

« the bird and the bee premiere “Love Letter to Japan” video on MySpace
Billy Craig featured on two radio shows »
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed
Subscribe to Band Weblogs Podcast Show by Email | RSS Feed

Trackback URL

  • --------

  • SXSW
  • 10 reasons why music blogs are great for bands
  • Free online distribution for bands, musicians - music blog entries + band press releases
  • Music publicists, PR companies: READ THIS!
  • Buy Music!
  • Recent Posts

  • Kudos

  • Band Weblogs is a Musical Gem
  • Band Blogs/Music Blogs